The cost efficient two Phase RIPAT Model
The method project will follows RIPAT manual to ensure that all earmarked commodities in the basket of option are introduced with the payback concept so as to discourage dependency syndrome while encouraging sharing of introduced interventions. For a in 20 villages for three years RIPAT start and one year RIPAT spreading (3+1 years) the following are expected : –
Primary beneficiaries / target groups:Year 1-3(RIPAT ‘start’): 10 villages and 20 groups of 35 HH = 700 households
Secondary beneficiaries: – During RIPAT ‘start’ each group member will train at least 3 others in the community: (3 x 700) = 2,100 households; In year 3 or 4 during RIPAT ‘spreading’ 10 villages; 20 groups of 35HH = 700 households will be targeted; and under the mechanisms of help to self help will lead to (700×3) + 700 = 2,800 households.
Implementing project to 10 villages for 3 + 1 years under provided generic basket of options and with separate transport cost; each village in the RIPAT ’start project’ will need at least 10,000,000Tsh – 20,000,000 (5,000$ – 10,000,$) per year; hence for three years about 30,000,000 – 60,000,000 (15,000 – 30,000$) will be needed; i.e. 300,000,000 – 600,000,000(150,000 – 300,000$)for three – four years
For RIPAT ’spreading’ to another 10 villages, 1/3 (one third) of the total cost used in RIPAT start will be required hoping most of the task will be done by the community based experts i.e. Super farmers and Extension officers. Hence the cost for RIPAT ’spreading’ will be 100,000,000 – 200,000,000Tsh or 50,000 – 100,000$
As the project target 5,600 HH; and if each HH have at least 5 members; then 28,000 individuals will benefit from the project within the 4 years period by using 400,000,000 – 800,000,000Tsh (200,000 – 400,000$). In this case each HH will spend only 72,000 – 144,000Tsh (36 – 72$); if divide to 5 members of the HH; each individual will have to spend about 15,000 30,000Tsh (7 – 15$).
N.B: – Transportation cost is not included but if the project car is used (no mileage charges) the transport charges can be very be very low.
– For exploiting the economies of scale and for good project performance, the number of villages/parishes should range between 5 – 10; i.e. less than 5 may lead to budget increase (high cost project) and >10 may dilute the job i.e. spread too thinly.
– The project payback/economic returns can be calculated based on the proposed basket of options and it will be amazing how development can be such a simple thing!